The Gregorian Institute Shield, composed of the crossed gold and silver keys of the Papal Insignia, an open book with the words 'Via Veritas Vita' ('The Way, the Truth, and the Life') written on its pages, three golden six-sided stars on a red banner, and a Germanic cross.

at BENEDICTINE COLLEGE

Calling all Catholics!

If you’re Catholic, somewhere along the line you have asked someone to pray for you, and certainly someone has asked you to pray for them. In God’s family, we do each other favors.  So much of our Faith is rooted in the concept of reciprocal merit. (After all, we are only redeemed because Jesus Himself made a rather large deposit in our account.)

There are times in any family when all hands need to be on deck, when everyone is called to pitch in. The clean up after my grandma’s epic St. Patrick’s Day parties comes to mind.

Our Church family’s great uncles, the Cardinals who are gathering in Rome to elect the next Pope, seem to think that this is such a time. They have put out a request for all hands on deck, actually, more like all knees on deck.

They have called for prayers on Wednesday, March 6th at 5pm Rome time (that’s 11am Eastern, 10am Central, 9am Mountain and 8am Pacific). The Cardinals will gather at the altar of the Chair of St. Peter in St. Peter’s Basilica and will pray the Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary followed by adoration of the Blessed Sacrament and Vespers.

So, what should you pray? The answer? Something. Anything. As long as you keep in mind the intentions of the Cardinal-Electors and the upcoming Conclave.

And calling all Ravens! It’s Spring Break at Benedictine College but there is never a break from loving and serving God through his Church. Back in Atchison, we will be praying at 10 am tomorrow at the grotto (the monks will be offering the 5:15 mass for this intention) and invite you all to do the same, with your families or friends or on the many mission trips going on this week. Let Raven prayers fly high in the sky!

Thanks to our friends at www.catholicvote.org for the graphic and for the heads up!

As St. Catherine of Siena used to say, we can “lay siege to heaven” through our prayers. Let’s be united in prayer as a world-wide family as never before!

Calling all Catholics!

 

Benedictine College